contribution…(MADISON, WI), November 30, 2012 – On November 28, 2012, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack designated 31 counties in Wisconsin as primary natural disaster area in two separate designations due to several weather conditions that occurred during 2012.

The first of two Secretarial Disaster Designations is for counties that suffered losses due to unseasonable warm weather followed by frost and freezes that occurred March 1- June 11, 2012.  The counties announced in this designation include:

  • Bayfield
  • Brown
  • Calumet
  • Chippewa
  • Columbia
  • Dane
  • Dodge
  • Florence
  • Fond du Lac
  • Forest
  • Jackson
  • Juneau
  • Kenosha
  • La Crosse
  • Langlade
  • Lincoln
  • Marathon
  • Marinette
  • Milwaukee
  • Monroe
  • Oconto
  • Outagamie
  • Pierce
  • Polk
  • Racine
  • Shawano
  • Trempealeau
  • Walworth
  • Washington
  • Waupaca


Producers in the following counties also qualify for emergency loans because their counties are contiguous to the counties named above:

  • Adams
  • Ashland
  • Barron
  • Buffalo
  • Burnett
  • Clark
  • Douglas
  • Dunn
  • Eau Claire
  • Green
  • Green Lake
  • Iowa
  • Jefferson
  • Kewaunee
  • Manitowoc
  • Marquette
  • Menominee
  • Oneida
  • Ozaukee
  • Pepin
  • Portage
  • Price
  • Rock
  • Rusk
  • St. Croix
  • Sauk
  • Sawyer
  • Sheboygan
  • Taylor
  • Vernon
  • Vilas
  • Washburn
  • Waukesha
  • Waushara
  • Winnebago
  • Wood

Under the second Secretarial Disaster Designation announced on November 28, Manitowoc County has been named a primary natural disaster area due to drought that occurred May 7 – August 8, 2012.

Producers in the following counties also qualify for emergency loans because their counties are contiguous to Manitowoc County under this second designation:

  • Brown
  • Calumet
  • Kewaunee
  • Sheboygan

“The counties announced in the Secretarial Disaster Designation have the opportunity to access low interest emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency (FSA).  These loans are available to producers who have suffered qualifying damages or losses from the current drought,” said Brad Pfaff, Wisconsin FSA State Executive Director.  “The deadline to file for a disaster loan is July 29, 2013.”

Actual loss loans for producers losses will be based on the disaster year production compared to the previous three year production history. The actual loss loans for physical damages to property destroyed or damaged will be based upon the allowable cost associated with repairing or replacing the property destroyed or damaged. In addition, the damaged or destroyed property must be essential to the continuation of the operation.  Interest rates for actual loss loans that do not exceed $500,000 will be 2.125 percent.
Juneau County is serviced by the Farm loan team located in Sparta.  Producers who feel they have sustained a qualifying loss and are interested in more loan information may contact the Juneau County FSA office at 608-847-7221 or the Sparta Farm Loan team directly at 608-269-8136.

Anyone interested in obtaining an operating loan through the Farm Service Agency for 2013 is encouraged to apply early because funding may be limited for the upcoming year.