contributed….The Juneau County FSA committee plays an important role in the delivery of Federal Farm programs to the farmers, ranchers and landowners in Juneau County.  The individuals on this committee are elected to three year terms and make decisions on program and loan eligibility, conservation programs, disaster programs, and oversee the operations of the local FSA office.  The county is split into three administrative areas and each year a representative from one of those areas is elected to represent that area on the committee.  This year the townships of Cutler, Orange, Clearfield, Fountain, Lisbon, and Plymouth will be electing a representative.  Rodney Knuth of Plymouth Township is the current representative on the committee for this area.

FSA mailed ballots to eligible voters beginning in early November.  The completed ballots are due back to the Juneau County FSA office either via mail or in person by December 3, 2012.  All Eligible ballots will be counted at the Committee meeting on December 6th in the Juneau County FSA Office in Mauston.  Newly elected committee members and alternates take office January 1, 2013.

Other members of the Juneau County FSA committee are Daniel Pokorney and Bill Robinson.

Betty Manson serves as the County Committee advisor.  This is an appointed position to the committee to ensure that the perspectives of socially disadvantaged groups are represented in the decision making processes on the committee.  The Advisor position is a one year term and is effective March 1st.  Women and members of minority or other socially disadvantaged groups are encouraged with an interest in agriculture are encouraged to contact the Juneau County Farm Service Agency for more information in the advisor position.

County Committee members and advisors are paid for their meeting time and travel while performing their duties.